Since it's summer and the weather is great, I've been hitting the links like crazy. Golf to me is one fantastic way to spend an afternoon outdoors. I know what you're thinking, all I ever do is read, but on the contrary. I've been golfing since I was an early teen, but it wasn't until I got older and found I was missing something. My golfing career started out casually so I didn't get to learn the details of the rules. That is where this book really somes in handy for me.
It's a stroke play tournament and there's a wait on the first tee. A player in the next group to start passes time by shipping a couple of balls onto the tee. Is there a penalty? If so, what is it?
A ball lies just outside a bunker. A loose impediment in the bunker interferes with the player's stroke. Is this player entitled to remove the loose impediment?
A ball lies in the rough. The player removes a twig that lies about six inches behind the ball. The ball does not move. A few seconds later, as the player is selcting a club, a gust of wind causes the ball to move. Does the player incur a penalty?
It's a match. A's ball is near the hole, but he doesn't mark and lift it. His opponent B putts. B's ball strikes that of A, and into the hole goes A's ball. What's the ruling?
To find the answers, check it out at your local library.